Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1297. நாணும் மறந்தேன் அவர்மறக்

1297. Naanum Maranthen Avarmarak

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு புலத்தல் (Nenjodu Pulaththal)
    Exploration with Oneself
  • குறள்
    நாணும் மறந்தேன் அவர்மறக் கல்லாஎன்
    மாணா மடநெஞ்சிற் பட்டு.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலரை மறக்கமுடியாத எனது இழிந்த அறிவில்லாத மனத்தோடு கூடி நாணத்தையும் மறந்துவிட்டேன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Fall'n 'neath the sway of this ignoble foolish heart,
    Which will not him forget, I have forgotten shame.
  • Meaning
    I have even forgotten my modesty, having been caught in my foolish mind which is not dignified enough to forget him.


Post a Comment