Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0004. வேண்டுதல் வேண்டாமை இலானடி

0004. Venduthal Vendaamai Ilaanadi

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    கடவுள் வாழ்த்து (Kadavul Vaazhththu)
    The Praise of God
  • குறள்
    வேண்டுதல் வேண்டாமை இலானடி சேர்ந்தார்க்கு
    யாண்டும் இடும்பை இல.
  • விளக்கம்
    விருப்பு, வெறுப்பு இல்லாத கடவுளின் திருவடிகளை நினைப்பவருக்கு எப்பொழுதும் துன்பம் இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    His foot, 'Whom want affects not, irks not grief,' who gain
    Shall not, through every time, of any woes complain.
  • Meaning
    To those who meditate the feet of Him who is void of desire or aversion, evil shall never come.


Post a Comment