Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0040. செயற்பால தோரும் அறனே

0040. Seyarpaala Thorum Arane

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    அரண் வலியுறுத்தல் (Aran Valiyuruththal)
    Assertion of the Strength of Virtue
  • குறள்
    செயற்பால தோரும் அறனே ஒருவற்கு
    உயற்பால தோரும் பழி.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் செய்ய வேண்டியது அறச்செயலே; அவன் செய்யாமல் தவிர்க்கவேண்டியது பழிச்செயலே.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Virtue' sums the things that should be done;
    'Vice' sums the things that man should shun.
  • Meaning
    That is virtue which each ought to do, and that is vice which each should shun.


Post a Comment