Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0119. சொற்கோட்டம் இல்லது செப்பம்

0119. Sorkottam Illathu Seppam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல்(Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    நடுவு நிலைமை (Naduvu Nilaimai)
  • குறள்
    சொற்கோட்டம் இல்லது செப்பம் ஒருதலையா
    உட்கோட்டம் இன்மை பெறின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நடுவுநிலையாவது ஒருவனது சொல்லில் குற்றம் இல்லாதிருத்தல். அவனது உள்ளம் நடுவு நிலைமையில் இருக்குமானால், சொல்லில் குற்றம் இல்லாத நிலைமை உண்டாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Inflexibility in word is righteousness,
    If men inflexibility of soul possess.
  • Meaning
    Freedom from obliquity of speech is rectitude, if there be (corresponding) freedom from bias of mind.


Post a Comment