Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0121. அடக்கம் அமரருள் உய்க்கும்

0121. Adakkam Amararul Uikkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல்(Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    அடக்கமுடைமை (Adakkamudaimai)
    The Possession of Self-Restraint
  • குறள்
    அடக்கம் அமரருள் உய்க்கும் அடங்காமை
    ஆரிருள் உய்த்து விடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அடக்கம் என்னும் பண்பு ஒருவனைத் தேவர் நடுவே கொண்டு சேர்க்கும்; அடங்காமை என்னும் குணம் நரகத்தில் தள்ளி விடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Control of self does man conduct to bliss th' immortals share;
    Indulgence leads to deepest night, and leaves him there.
  • Meaning
    Self-control will place (a man) among the Gods; the want of it will drive (him) into the thickest darkness (of hell).


Post a Comment