Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0115. கேடும் பெருக்கமும் இல்லல்ல

0115. Kedum Perukkamum Illalla

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல்(Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    நடுவு நிலைமை (Naduvu Nilaimai)
  • குறள்
    கேடும் பெருக்கமும் இல்லல்ல நெஞ்சத்துக்
    கோடாமை சான்றோர்க் கணி.
  • விளக்கம்
    தாழ்வும், உயர்வும் ஒருவர் வாழ்வில் இல்லாதவை அல்ல. அவரவர் வினைகளால் வரும் என்பதை அறிந்து, நடுவுநிலை தவறாதிருத்தல் அறிவால் நிறைந்தவர்க்கு அழகாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The gain and loss in life are not mere accident;
    Just mind inflexible is sages' ornament.
  • Meaning
    Loss and gain come not without cause; it is the ornament of the wise to preserve evenness of mind (under both).


Post a Comment