Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0062. எழுபிறப்பும் தீயவை தீண்டா

0062. Ezhupirappum Theeyavai Theendaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல்(Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    மக்கட்பேறு (Makkatperu)
    The obtaining of Sons
  • குறள்
    எழுபிறப்பும் தீயவை தீண்டா பழிபிறங்காப்
    பண்புடை மக்கட் பெறின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிறர் பழித்ததற்கு இடமில்லாத நல்ல பண்புடைய மக்களை ஒருவன் பெருவானானால், அவனை எழுவகைப் பிறப்புகளிலும் துன்பங்கள் சென்றடையா.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who children gain, that none reproach, of virtuous worth,
    No evils touch them, through the sev'n-fold maze of birth.
  • Meaning
    The evils of the seven births shall not touch those who abtain children of a good disposition, free from vice.


Post a Comment