Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0078. அன்பகத் தில்லா உயிர்வாழ்க்கை

0078. Anbagath Thillaa Uyirvaazhkkai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல்(Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    அன்புடைமை (Anbudaimai)
    The Possession of Love
  • குறள்
    அன்பகத் தில்லா உயிர்வாழ்க்கை வன்பாற்கண்
    வற்றல் மரந்தளிர்த் தற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனத்தில் அன்பில்லாத மக்கள் இல்லறத்தில் நன்கு வாழ்தல் என்பது வழிய பாலைநிலத்தில் உலர்ந்த மரம் தளிர்த்தல் போன்றதாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The loveless soul, the very joys of life may know,
    When flowers, in barren soil, on sapless trees, shall blow.
  • Meaning
    The domestic state of that man whose mind is without love is like the flourishing of a withered tree upon the parched desert.


Post a Comment