Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1215. நனவினால் கண்டதூஉம் ஆங்கே

1215. Nanavinaal Kandathooum Aange

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    கனவுநிலை உரைத்தல் (Kanavunilai Uraiththal)
    The Visions of the Night
  • குறள்
    நனவினால் கண்டதூஉம் ஆங்கே கனவுந்தான்
    கண்ட பொழுதே இனிது.
  • விளக்கம்
    நனவில் அவரைக் கண்டு அனுபவித்த இன்பம் அப்பொழுத்தான் இனிதாயிற்று; இப்பொழுது காணும் கனவு இன்பமும் அனுபவிக்கும்போது மட்டுமே இனிதாகின்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    As what I then beheld in waking hour was sweet,
    So pleasant dreams in hour of sleep my spirit greet.
  • Meaning
    I saw him in my waking hours, and then it was pleasant; I see him just now in my dream, and it is (equally) pleasant.


Post a Comment