Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0021. ஒழுக்கத்து நீத்தார் பெருமை

0021. Ozhukkaththu Neeththaar Perumai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    நீத்தார் பெருமை (Neeththaar Perumai)
    The Greatness of Ascetics
  • குறள்
    ஒழுக்கத்து நீத்தார் பெருமை விழுப்பத்து
    வேண்டும் பனுவல் துணிவு.
  • விளக்கம்
    நல்லொழுக்க நெறியில் நின்று உலகப் பற்றுகளை ஒழித்தவர்களின் பெருமையையே, நூல்கள் சிறந்த பெருமையாக விரும்பிக் கூறும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The settled rule of every code requires, as highest good,
    Their greatness who, renouncing all, true to their rule have stood.
  • Meaning
    The end and aim of all treatise is to extol beyond all other excellence, the greatness of those who,
    while abiding in the rule of conduct peculiar to their state, have abandoned all desire.


Post a Comment