Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0009. கோளில் பொறியின் குணமிலவே

0009. Kolil Poriyin Gunamilave

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    கடவுள் வாழ்த்து (Kadavul Vaazhththu)
    The Praise of God
  • குறள்
    கோளில் பொறியின் குணமிலவே எண்குணத்தான்
    தாளை வணங்காத் தலை.
  • விளக்கம்
    எட்டுக் குணங்களையுடைய கடவுளின் திருவடிகளை வணங்காத தலைகள், கேளாத செவி முதலியவை போலப் பயனற்றவையாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Before His foot, 'the Eight-fold Excellence,' with unbent head,
    Who stands, like palsied sense, is to all living functions dead.
  • Meaning
    The head that worships not the feet of Him who is possessed of eight attributes, is as useless as a sense without the power of sensation.


சென்ஷி said...

ஆச்சரியப்படுத்தும் உழைப்பு!

நிச்சயம் எல்லோருக்கும் தேவையான அவசியமான பதிவு இது.. தெரியப்படுத்தியமைக்கு நன்றி நண்பரே!

Post a Comment