Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1296. தனியே இருந்து நினைத்தக்கால்

1296. Thaniye Irundhu Ninaiththakkaal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு புலத்தல் (Nenjodu Pulaththal)
    Exploration with Oneself
  • குறள்
    தனியே இருந்து நினைத்தக்கால் என்னைத்
    தினிய இருந்ததென் நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலரைப் பிரிந்து அவரது கொடுமைகளை நினைத்தபோது என்னைத் தின்பதுபோல் வருத்துவதற்கென்றே என் மனம் இருந்தது.
  • Translation
    in English
    My heart consumes me when I ponder lone,
    And all my lover's cruelty bemoan.
  • Meaning
    My mind has been (here) in order to eat me up (as it were) whenever I think of him in my solitude.


Post a Comment