Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0623. இடும்பைக்கு இடும்பை படுப்பர்

0623. Idumbaikku Idumbai Paduppar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    இடுக்கண் அழியாமை (Idukkan Azhiyaamai)
    Helpless in Trouble
  • குறள்
    இடும்பைக்கு இடும்பை படுப்பர் இடும்பைக்கு
    இடும்பை படாஅ தவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    துன்பத்துக்கு வருந்தாதவர்கள், அத்துன்பத்துக்குத் துன்பமே செய்வார்கள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who griefs confront with meek, ungrieving heart,
    From them griefs, put to grief, depart.
  • Meaning
    They give sorrow to sorrow, who in sorrow do not suffer sorrow.


Post a Comment