Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0008. அறவாழி அந்தணன் தாள்சேர்ந்தார்க்

0008. Aravaazhi Andhanan Thaalserndhaark

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    கடவுள் வாழ்த்து (Kadavul Vaazhththu)
    The Praise of God
  • குறள்
    அறவாழி அந்தணன் தாள்சேர்ந்தார்க் கல்லால்
    பிறவாழி நீந்தல் அரிது.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறக்கடலாக விளங்கும் கடவுளின் திருவடிகளைத் தவறாது நினைப்பவர்க்கல்லாமல், மற்றவர்க்குப் பொருளும் இன்பமும் ஆகிய கடல்களைக் கடக்க இயலாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Unless His feet 'the Sea of Good, the Fair and Bountiful,' men gain,
    'Tis hard the further bank of being's changeful sea to attain.
  • Meaning
    None can swim the sea of vice, but those who are united to the feet of that gracious Being who is a sea of virtue.


Post a Comment