Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0003. மலர்மிசை ஏகினான் மாணடி

0003. Malarmisai Yeginaan Maanadi

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    கடவுள் வாழ்த்து (Kadavul Vaazhththu)
    The Praise of God
  • குறள்
    மலர்மிசை ஏகினான் மாணடி சேர்ந்தார்
    நிலமிசை நீடுவாழ் வார்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அன்பர்களின் நெஞ்சமாகிய தாமரை மலரில் வீற்றிருக்கும் கடவுளின் பெருமை பொருந்திய திருவடிகளை இடைவிடாமல் நினைப்பவர், எல்லா உலகங்களுக்கும் மேலானதாகிய முத்தி உலகில் எப்பொழுதும் வாழ்வார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    His feet, 'Who o'er the full-blown flower hath past,' who gain
    In bliss long time shall dwell above this earthly plain.
  • Meaning
    They who are united to the glorious feet of Him who passes swiftly over the flower of the mind, shall flourish long above all worlds.


Post a Comment