Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0123. செறிவறிந்து சீர்மை பயக்கும்

0123. Serivarindhu Seermai Payakkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல்(Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    அடக்கமுடைமை (Adakkamudaimai)
    The Possession of Self-Restraint
  • குறள்
    செறிவறிந்து சீர்மை பயக்கும் அறிவறிந்து
    ஆற்றின் அடங்கப் பெறின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிய வேண்டியவற்றை அறிந்து ஒருவன் அடங்கி நடந்தால், அவ்வடக்கம் பிறரால் மதிக்கப்பட்டு, அவனுக்குச் சிறப்பைத் தரும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    If versed in wisdom's lore by virtue's law you self restrain.
    Your self-repression known will yield you glory's gain.
  • Meaning
    Knowing that self-control is knowledge, if a man should control himself, in the prescribed course, such self-control will bring him distinction among the wise.


Post a Comment