Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0029. குணமென்னும் குன்றேறி நின்றார்

0029. Gunamennum Kundreri Nindraar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    நீத்தார் பெருமை (Neeththaar Perumai)
    The Greatness of Ascetics
  • குறள்
    குணமென்னும் குன்றேறி நின்றார் வெகுளி
    கணமேயும் காத்தல் அரிது.
  • விளக்கம்
    நற்குணம் என்னும் மலையின் மேல் ஏறி நின்ற துறவியின் சினம் சிறு பொழுதே என்றாலும், எவர்க்கும் அதன் விளைவைத் தங்குதல் முடியாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    The wrath 'tis hard e'en for an instant to endure,
    Of those who virtue's hill have scaled, and stand secure.
  • Meaning
    The anger of those who have ascended the mountain of goodness, though it continue but for a moment, cannot be resisted.


Post a Comment