Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0582. எல்லார்க்கும் எல்லாம் நிகழ்பவை

0582. Ellaarkkum Ellaam Nigazhbavai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஒற்றாடல் (Otraadal)
  • குறள்
    எல்லார்க்கும் எல்லாம் நிகழ்பவை எஞ்ஞான்றும்
    வல்லறிதல் வேந்தன் தொழில்.
  • விளக்கம்
    எல்லோரிடத்திலும் நடப்பன எல்லாவற்றையும் நாள் தோறும் ஒற்றன் மூலமாக விரைந்து அறிதல், அரசனுக்குரிய தொழிலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Each day, of every subject every deed,
    'Tis duty of the king to learn with speed.
  • Meaning
    It is the duty of a king to know quickly (by a spy) what all happens, daily, amongst all men.


Post a Comment