Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0126. ஒருநம்யுள் ஆமைபோல் ஐந்தடக்கல்

0126. Orunamyul Aamaipol Aindhadakkal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல்(Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    அடக்கமுடைமை (Adakkamudaimai)
    The Possession of Self-Restraint
  • குறள்
    ஒருநம்யுள் ஆமைபோல் ஐந்தடக்கல் ஆற்றின்
    எழுநம்யும் ஏமாப் புடைத்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஆமை தன் உறுப்புகளை உள்ளே இழுப்பதுபோல ஒருவன் ஒரு பிறப்பில் ஐம்பொறிகளையும் அடக்குவானெனில் அஃது அவனை அடுத்த ஏழு பிறப்புகளிலும் தீமையிலிருந்து பாதுகாக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Like tortoise, who the five restrains
    In one, through seven world bliss obtains.
  • Meaning
    Should one throughout a single birth, like a tortoise keep in his five senses, the fruit of it will prove a safe-guard to him throughout the seven-fold births.


Post a Comment