Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0076. அறத்திற்கே அன்புசார் பென்ப

0076. Araththirke Anbusaar Penba

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல்(Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    அன்புடைமை (Anbudaimai)
    The Possession of Love
  • குறள்
    அறத்திற்கே அன்புசார் பென்ப அறியார்
    மறத்திற்கும் அஃதே துணை.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறம் செய்வதற்கே அன்பு துணையாக உள்ளது என்று அறியாதவர் கூறுவர்; ஆனால், தீமையை ஒழிப்பதற்கும் அதுவே துணையாம்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The unwise deem love virtue only can sustain,
    It also helps the man who evil would restrain.
  • Meaning
    The ignorant say that love is an ally to virtue only, but it is also a help to get out of vice.


Post a Comment