Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0077. என்பி லதனை வெயில்போலக்

0077. Enbi Lathanai Veyilpolak

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல்(Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    அன்புடைமை (Anbudaimai)
    The Possession of Love
  • குறள்
    என்பி லதனை வெயில்போலக் காயுமே
    அன்பி லதனை அறம்.
  • விளக்கம்
    எலும்பு இல்லாத புழுக்கள் முதலியவற்றை வெயில் காய்ந்து வருத்துவதுபோல, அன்பில்லாத உயிரை அறக்கடவுள் வருத்தும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    As sun's fierce ray dries up the boneless things,
    So loveless beings virtue's power to nothing brings.
  • Meaning
    Virtue will burn up the soul which is without love, even as the sun burns up the creature which is without bone, i.e. worms.


Post a Comment