Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0024. உரனென்னும் தோட்டியான் ஓரைந்தும்

0024. Uranennum Thottiyaan Oraindhum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    நீத்தார் பெருமை (Neeththaar Perumai)
    The Greatness of Ascetics
  • குறள்
    உரனென்னும் தோட்டியான் ஓரைந்தும் காப்பான்
    வரனென்னும் வைப்பிற்கோர் வித்தது.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிவு என்னும் அங்குசத்தால் ஐம்புலன்களாகிய ஐந்து யானைகளையும் அடக்கி ஆள்பவனே, மேலானதாகிய முத்தியை அடைவதற்கு ஏற்றவனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    He, who with firmness, curb the five restrains,
    Is seed for soil of yonder happy plains.
  • Meaning
    He who guides his five senses by the hook of wisdom will be a seed in the world of heaven.


Post a Comment