Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1298. எள்ளின் இளிவாம்என்று எண்ணி

1298. Ellin Ilivaamendru Enni

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு புலத்தல் (Nenjodu Pulaththal)
    Exploration with Oneself
  • குறள்
    எள்ளின் இளிவாம்என்று எண்ணி அவர்திறம்
    உள்ளும் உயிர்க்காதல் நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    உயிர்மேல் ஆசையுடைய என்மனம், காதலரை இழந்தால் தாழ்வு உண்டாகும் என்று கருதி, அவரது நல்ல திறங்களையே நினைக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    If I contemn him, then disgrace awaits me evermore;
    My soul that seeks to live his virtues numbers o'er.
  • Meaning
    My soul which clings to life thinks only of his (own) gain in the belief that it would be disgraceful for it to despise him.


Post a Comment