Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0006. பொறிவாயில் ஐந்தவித்தான் பொய்தீர்

0006. Porivaayil Aindhaviththaan Poitheer

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    கடவுள் வாழ்த்து (Kadavul Vaazhththu)
    The Praise of God
  • குறள்
    பொறிவாயில் ஐந்தவித்தான் பொய்தீர் ஒழுக்க
    நெறிநின்றார் நீடுவாழ் வார்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஐம்புல ஆசைகளையும் ஒழித்த கடவுளின் ஒழுக்க நெறியில் தவறாது நின்றவர், நீண்டகாலம் நலமுடன் வாழ்வார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Long live they blest, who 've stood in path from falsehood freed;
    His, 'Who quenched lusts that from the sense-gates five proceed'.
  • Meaning
    Those shall long proposer who abide in the faultless way of Him who has destroyed the five desires of the senses.


Post a Comment