Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0116. கெடுவல்யான் என்பது அறிகதன்

0116. Keduvalyaan Enbathu Arigathan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல்(Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    நடுவு நிலைமை (Naduvu Nilaimai)
  • குறள்
    கெடுவல்யான் என்பது அறிகதன் நெஞ்சம்
    நடுவொரீஇ அல்ல செயின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் மனம் நடுவுநிலையிலிருந்து நீங்கி, முறையல்லாதவற்றைச் செய்ய நினைத்தால், 'நான்கெட்டு விடுவேன்' என்பதை அறிவானாக.
  • Translation
    in English
    If, right deserting, heart to evil turn,
    Let man impending ruin's sign discern!
  • Meaning
    Let him whose mind departing from equity commits sin well consider thus within himself, "I shall perish."


Post a Comment