Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0001. அகர முதல எழுத்தெல்லாம்

0001. Agara Mudhala Ezhuththellaam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    கடவுள் வாழ்த்து (Kadavul Vaazhththu)
    The Praise of God
  • குறள்
    அகர முதல எழுத்தெல்லாம் ஆதி
    பகவன் முதற்றே உலகு.
  • விளக்கம்
    எழுத்துக்கள் எல்லாம் அகரம் என்னும் ஒலி எழுத்தை முதலாகக் கொண்டுள்ளன. அது போல, உலகத்தில் உள்ள உயிர்கள் எல்லாம் ஆதியாகிய கடவுளை முதலாகக் கொண்டுள்ளன.
  • Translation
    in English
    A, as its first of letters, every speech maintains;
    The "Primal Deity" is first through all the world's domains.
  • Meaning
    As the letter A is the first of all letters, so the eternal God is first in the world.


Suresh Kumar said...

You will be rewarded one day for your great work. Too good arul. Keep it up.

Post a Comment