Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0371. ஆகூழால் தோன்றும் அசைவின்மை

0371. Aakoozhaal Thondrum Asaivinmai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    ஊழியல் (Oozhiyal) - Fate
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஊழ் (Oozh)
  • குறள்
    ஆகூழால் தோன்றும் அசைவின்மை கைப்பொருள்
    போகூழால் தோன்றும் மடி.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவனுக்குப் பொருள் உண்டாவதற்குக் காரணமாகிய ஊழினால் முயற்சி உண்டாகும்; பொருள் அழிவதற்குக் காரணமாகிய ஊழினால் சோம்பல் உண்டாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Wealth-giving fate power of unflinching effort brings;
    From fate that takes away idle remissness springs.
  • Meaning
    Perseverance comes from a prosperous fate, and idleness from an adverse fate.


Post a Comment