Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0030. அந்தணர் என்போர் அறவோர்மற்

0030. Andhanar Enbor Aravormar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    பாயிரம் இயல்(Paayiram Iyal) - Introduction
  • அதிகாரம்
    நீத்தார் பெருமை (Neeththaar Perumai)
    The Greatness of Ascetics
  • குறள்
    அந்தணர் என்போர் அறவோர்மற் றெவ்வுயிர்க்கும்
    செந்தண்மை பூண்டொழுக லான்.
  • விளக்கம்
    எல்லா உயிர்கள் மீதும் அருளுடையவராக நடந்து கொள்வதால், அந்தணர் என்று சொல்லப் பெறுபவர் பற்றினை விட்ட துறவியர் ஆவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Towards all that breathe, with seemly graciousness adorned they live;
    And thus to virtue's sons the name of 'Anthanar' men give.
  • Meaning
    The virtuous are truly called Anthanar; because in their conduct towards all creatures they are clothed in kindness.


Post a Comment