Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1291. அவர்நெஞ்சு அவர்க்காதல் கண்டும்

1291. Avarnenju Avarkkaathal Kandum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு புலத்தல் (Nenjodu Pulaththal)
    Exploration with Oneself
  • குறள்
    அவர்நெஞ்சு அவர்க்காதல் கண்டும் எவன்நெஞ்சே
    நீஎமக்கு ஆகா தது.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனமே! அவருடைய மனம் நம்மை நினையாதிருப்பதை அறிந்தும், நீ எமக்காக நில்லாமல் அவரையே நினைத்ததற்குக் காரணம் என்ன?
  • Translation
    in English
    You see his heart is his alone
    O heart, why not be all my own?
  • Meaning
    O my soul! although you have seen how his soul stands by him, how is it you do not stand by me?


Post a Comment