Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1290. கண்ணின் துனித்தே கலங்கினாள்

1290. Kannin Thuniththe Kalanginaal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புணர்ச்சி விதும்பல் (Punarchchi Vithumbal)
    Desire for Reunion
  • குறள்
    கண்ணின் துனித்தே கலங்கினாள் புல்லுதல்
    என்னினும் தான்விதுப் புற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலி கண்ணினால் பிணக்கிக் கலங்கினாள்; பின்னர் அதனை மறந்து, என்னைவிட விரைவாகத் தழுவினாள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Her eye, as I drew nigh one day, with anger shone:
    By love o'erpowered, her tenderness surpassed my own.
  • Meaning
    She once feigned dislike in her eyes, but the warmth of her embrace exceeded my own.


Post a Comment