Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1292. உறாஅ தவர்க்கண்ட கண்ணும்

1292. Uraaa Thavarkkanda Kannum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு புலத்தல் (Nenjodu Pulaththal)
    Exploration with Oneself
  • குறள்
    உறாஅ தவர்க்கண்ட கண்ணும் அவரைச்
    செறாஅரெனச் சேறியென் நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனமே! நம்மிடத்தில் அன்பில்லாதவரின் குணத்தை நன்றாக அறிந்த பின்னரும், யான் சென்றால் சினம் கொள்ள மாட்டார் என்று நினைத்து நீ அவரிடம் செல்கின்றாய்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Tis plain, my heart, that he 's estranged from thee;
    Why go to him as though he were not enemy?
  • Meaning
    O my soul! although you have known him who does not love me, still do you go to him, saying "he will not be displeased."


Post a Comment