Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1247. காமம் விடுஒன்றோ நாண்விடு

1247. Kaamam Viduondro Naanvidu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு கிளத்தல் (Nenchodu Kilaththal)
  • குறள்
    காமம் விடுஒன்றோ நாண்விடு நன்னெஞ்சே
    யானோ பொறேன்இவ் விரண்டு.
  • விளக்கம்
    நல்ல மனமே! ஒன்று காமத்தை விட்டுவிடு; அல்லது நாணத்தை விட்டுவிடு; ஒன்றுக்கொன்று மாறுபட்ட இவ்விரண்டையும் நான் தாங்கமாட்டேன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Or bid thy love, or bid thy shame depart;
    For me, I cannot bear them both, my worthy heart!
  • Meaning
    O my good soul, give up either lust or honour, as for me I can endure neither.


Post a Comment