Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1246. கலந்துணர்த்தும் காதலர்க் கண்டாற்

1246. Kalanthunarththum Kaathalark Kandaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு கிளத்தல் (Nenchodu Kilaththal)
  • குறள்
    கலந்துணர்த்தும் காதலர்க் கண்டாற் புலந்துணராய்
    பொய்க்காய்வு காய்திஎன் நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனமே! நம்மைச் சேர்ந்து ஊடலை நீக்குகின்ற காதலரைக் கண்டால் ஒருபோதும் வெறுக்காத நீ, இப்போது அவரைக் கொடியவர் என்று பொய்யாக வெறுக்கின்றாய்!
  • Translation
    in English
    My heart, false is the fire that burns; thou canst not wrath maintain,
    If thou thy love behold, embracing, soothing all thy pain.
  • Meaning
    O my soul! when you see the dear one who remove dislike by intercourse, you are displeased and continue to be so. Nay, your displeasure is (simply) false.


Post a Comment