Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1248. பரிந்தவர் நல்காரென்று ஏங்கிப்

1248. Parindhavar Nalgaarendru Yengip

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு கிளத்தல் (Nenchodu Kilaththal)
  • குறள்
    பரிந்தவர் நல்காரென்று ஏங்கிப் பிரிந்தவர்
    பின்செல்வாய் பேதைஎன் நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    எனது மனமே! அவர் இறக்கம் கொண்டு வந்து அருள் செய்யார் என்று நினைத்து, அவர் பின்னே ஏங்கிச் செல்கின்றாய்; நீ அறிவிலாதாய்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Thou art befooled, my heart, thou followest him who flees from thee;
    And still thou yearning criest: 'He will nor pity show nor love to me.'
  • Meaning
    You are a fool, O my soul! to go after my departed one, while you mourn that he is not kind enough tofavour you.


Post a Comment