Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1209. விளியுமென் இன்னுயிர் வேறல்லம்

1209. Viliyamen Innuyir Verallam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நினைந்தவர் புலம்பல் (Ninaindhavar Pulambal)
    Sad Memories
  • குறள்
    விளியுமென் இன்னுயிர் வேறல்லம் என்பார்
    அளியின்மை ஆற்ற நினைந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    இருவரும் வேறல்லர் என்று சொன்னவரது இரக்கமின்மையை மிகவும் நினைத்து, எனது இனிய உயிர் வீணே கழிகின்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Dear life departs, when his ungracious deeds I ponder o'er,
    Who said erewhile, 'We're one for evermore'.
  • Meaning
    My precious life is wasting away by thinking too much on the cruelty of him who said we were not different.


Post a Comment