Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1210. விடாஅது சென்றாரைக் கண்ணினால்

1210. Vidaaathu Sendraaraik Kanninaal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நினைந்தவர் புலம்பல் (Ninaindhavar Pulambal)
    Sad Memories
  • குறள்
    விடாஅது சென்றாரைக் கண்ணினால் காணப்
    படாஅதி வாழி மதி.
  • விளக்கம்
    சந்திரனே, வாழ்வாயாக; எனது மனத்தை விட்டு நீங்காமல் பிரிந்து சென்றவரை நான் கண்ணால் பார்க்கும் வரையில் நீ மறைந்திருப்பாயாக.
  • Translation
    in English
    Set not; so may'st thou prosper, moon! that eyes may see
    My love who went away, but ever bides with me.
  • Meaning
    May you live, O Moon! Do not set, that I mine see him who has departed without quitting my soul.


Post a Comment