Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1208. எனைத்து நினைப்பினும் காயார்

1208. Enaiththu Ninaippinum Kaayaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நினைந்தவர் புலம்பல் (Ninaindhavar Pulambal)
    Sad Memories
  • குறள்
    எனைத்து நினைப்பினும் காயார் அனைத்தன்றோ
    காதலர் செய்யும் சிறப்பு.
  • விளக்கம்
    எவ்வளவு நினைத்தாலும் காதலர் கோபிக்க மாட்டார்; அவர் செய்யும் நன்மை அவ்வளவேயன்றோ?
  • Translation
    in English
    My frequent thought no wrath excites. It is not so?
    This honour doth my love on me bestow.
  • Meaning
    He will not be angry however much I may think of him; is it not so much the delight my beloved affords me ?


Post a Comment