Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1207. மறப்பின் எவனாவன் மற்கொல்

1207. Marappin Evanaavan Markol

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நினைந்தவர் புலம்பல் (Ninaindhavar Pulambal)
    Sad Memories
  • குறள்
    மறப்பின் எவனாவன் மற்கொல் மறப்பறியேன்
    உள்ளினும் உள்ளம் சுடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அவர் தந்த இன்பத்தை மறவாதிருக்கின்ற காலத்திலும் பிரிவை நினைத்தால் மனம் கொதிக்கின்றது; அவ்வின்பத்தை மறந்தேனாயின் என் நிலை என்ன ஆகும்?
  • Translation
    in English
    If I remembered not what were I then? And yet,
    The fiery smart of what my spirit knows not to forget!
  • Meaning
    I have never forgotten (the pleasure); even to think of it burns my soul; could I live, if I should ever forget it ?


Post a Comment