Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1206. மற்றியான் என்னுளேன் மன்னோ

1206. Matriyaan Ennulen Manno

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நினைந்தவர் புலம்பல் (Ninaindhavar Pulambal)
    Sad Memories
  • குறள்
    மற்றியான் என்னுளேன் மன்னோ அவரொடியான்
    உற்றநாள் உள்ள உளேன்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நான் அவரோடு முன்பு சேர்ந்திருந்த நாளை நினைத்தலால் உயிர் வாழ்கின்றேன்; வேறு எதனால் உயிர் வாழ்கின்றேன்?
  • Translation
    in English
    How live I yet? I live to ponder o'er
    The days of bliss with him that are no more.
  • Meaning
    I live by remembering my (former) intercourse with him; if it were not so, how could I live ?


Post a Comment