Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1182. அவர்தந்தார் என்னும் தகையால்

1182. Avarthanthaar Ennum Thagaiyaal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    பசப்புறு பருவரல் (Pasappuru Paruvaral)
    The Pallid Hue
  • குறள்
    அவர்தந்தார் என்னும் தகையால் இவர்தந்தென்
    மேனிமேல் ஊரும் பசப்பு.
  • விளக்கம்
    இப்பசலை நிறமானது, காதலர் தந்தார் என்னும் களிப்பு மிகுதியால் என் உடம்பு முழுவதிலும் ஏறிப் பரவுகின்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    'He gave': this sickly hue thus proudly speaks,
    Then climbs, and all my frame its chariot makes.
  • Meaning
    Sallowness, as if proud of having been caused by him, would now ride on my person.


Post a Comment