Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1183. சாயலும் நாணும் அவர்கொண்டார்

1183. Saayalum Naanum Avarkondaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    பசப்புறு பருவரல் (Pasappuru Paruvaral)
    The Pallid Hue
  • குறள்
    சாயலும் நாணும் அவர்கொண்டார் கைம்மாறா
    நோயும் பசலையும் தந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    அவர் இக்காதல் நோயையும், பசலையையும் எனக்குத் தந்து, கைம்மாறாக என் அழகையும் நாணையும் பெற்றுக் கொண்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Of comeliness and shame he me bereft,
    While pain and sickly hue, in recompense, he left.
  • Meaning
    He has taken (away) my beauty and modesty, and given me instead disease and sallowness.


Post a Comment