Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1163. காமமும் நாணும் உயிர்காவாத்

1163. Kaamamum Naanum Uyirkaavaak

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    படர்மெலிந் திரங்கல் (Padarmelindh Thirangal)
  • குறள்
    காமமும் நாணும் உயிர்காவாத் தூங்கும்என்
    நோனா உடம்பின் அகத்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    தாங்க முடியாத உடம்பிலே எனது உயிரானது காவடித் தண்டாயிருக்க, அதன் இரண்டு முனைகளிலும் காதல் நோயும், வெட்கமும் தொங்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    My soul, like porter's pole, within my wearied frame,
    Sustains a two-fold burthen poised, of love and shame.
  • Meaning
    (Both) lust and shame, with my soul for their shoulder pole balance themselves on a body that cannot bear them.


Post a Comment