Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1162. கரத்தலும் ஆற்றேன்இந் நோயைநோய்

1162. Karaththalum Aatrenin Noyainoi

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    படர்மெலிந் திரங்கல் (Padarmelindh Thirangal)
  • குறள்
    கரத்தலும் ஆற்றேன்இந் நோயைநோய் செய்தார்க்கு
    உரைத்தலும் நாணுத் தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    இந்நோயைப் பிறர் அறியாமல் மறைக்க என்னால் முடியவில்லை. காதலருக்குத் தூது அனுப்பித் தெரிவிக்கவும் எனக்கு வெட்கமாக இருக்கின்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    I cannot hide this pain of mine, yet shame restrains
    When I would tell it out to him who caused my pains.
  • Meaning
    I cannot conceal this pain, nor can I relate it without shame to him who has caused it.


Post a Comment