Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1164. காமக் கடல்மன்னும் உண்டே

1164. Kaamak Kadalmannum Unde

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    படர்மெலிந் திரங்கல் (Padarmelindh Thirangal)
  • குறள்
    காமக் கடல்மன்னும் உண்டே அதுநீந்தும்
    ஏமப் புணைமன்னும் இல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலாகிய கடலே எனக்கு நிலைத்திருக்கின்றது; அதனை நீந்திக் கடக்கப் பாதுகாப்பாகிய தெப்பம் இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    A sea of love, 'tis true, I see stretched out before,
    But not the trusty bark that wafts to yonder shore.
  • Meaning
    There is indeed a flood of lust; but there is no raft of safety to cross it with.


Post a Comment