Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1068. இரவென்னும் ஏமாப்பில் தோணி

1068. Iravennum Yemaappil Thoni

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    இரவச்சம் (Iravachcham)
    The Dread of Mendicancy
  • குறள்
    இரவென்னும் ஏமாப்பில் தோணி கரவென்னும்
    பார்தாக்கப் பக்கு விடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    இரப்பு என்னும் பாதுகாப்பில்லாத மரக்கலம், கொடுக்காமல் மறைத்தல் எனும் வழிய பாறையோடு தாக்கினால் பிளந்துவிடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The fragile bark of beggary
    Wrecked on denial's rock will lie.
  • Meaning
    The unsafe raft of begging will split when it strikes on the rock of refusal.


Post a Comment