Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1069. இரவுள்ள உள்ளம் உருகும்

1069. Iravulla Ullam Urugum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    இரவச்சம் (Iravachcham)
    The Dread of Mendicancy
  • குறள்
    இரவுள்ள உள்ளம் உருகும் கரவுள்ள
    உள்ளதூஉம் இன்றிக் கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    இரத்தலின் கொடுமையை நினைத்தால் உள்ளம் கரையும்; இல்லை என்று சொல்லுவதன் கொடுமையை நினைத்தால் கரைந்து நின்ற உள்ளமும் இல்லாது அழிந்து போகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The heart will melt away at thought of beggary,
    With thought of stern repulse 'twill perish utterly.
  • Meaning
    To think of (the evil of) begging is enough to melt one's heart; but to think of refusal is enough to break it.


Post a Comment