Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1067. இரப்பன் இரப்பாரை எல்லாம்

1067. Irappan Irappaarai Ellaam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    இரவச்சம் (Iravachcham)
    The Dread of Mendicancy
  • குறள்
    இரப்பன் இரப்பாரை எல்லாம் இரப்பின்
    கரப்பார் இரவன்மின் என்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    இரக்கச் செல்கின்றவர்களை எல்லாம், 'பொருள் கொடுக்காமல் மறைப்பவரிடம் இரக்காதிருங்கள்' என வேண்டிக் கொள்கிறேன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    One thing I beg of beggars all, 'If beg ye may,
    Of those who hide their wealth, beg not, I pray.'
  • Meaning
    I beseech all beggars and say, "If you need to beg, never beg of those who give unwillingly."


Post a Comment