Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0846. அற்றம் மறைத்தலோ புல்லறிவு

0846. Atram Maraiththalo Pullarivu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    புல்லறிவாண்மை (Pullarivaanmai)
    Petty Conceit
  • குறள்
    அற்றம் மறைத்தலோ புல்லறிவு தம்வயின்
    குற்றம் மறையா வழி.
  • விளக்கம்
    தம்மிடத்துள்ள குற்றத்தை நீக்காமல், மறைத்ததற்க்குரிய அவயவத்தை மட்டும் ஆடையால் மறைத்துக் கொள்ளுதல் அற்ப அறிவாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Fools are they who their nakedness conceal,
    And yet their faults unveiled reveal.
  • Meaning
    Even to cover one's nakedness would be folly, if (one's) faults were not covered (by forsaking them).


Post a Comment