Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0847. அருமறை சோரும் அறிவிலான்

0847. Arumarai Sorum Arivilaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    புல்லறிவாண்மை (Pullarivaanmai)
    Petty Conceit
  • குறள்
    அருமறை சோரும் அறிவிலான் செய்யும்
    பெருமிறை தானே தனக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிய அறிவுரைகளை மனத்தில் வைத்துக் காக்காது சோர்ந்து வெளிப்படுத்தும் புல்லரிவாளன், தானே தனக்குப் பெரிய துன்பத்தை வருவித்துக் கொள்வான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    From out his soul who lets the mystic teachings die,
    Entails upon himself abiding misery.
  • Meaning
    The fool who neglects precious counsel does, of his own accord, a great injury to himself.


Post a Comment