Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0845. கல்லாத மேற்கொண் டொழுகல்

0845. Kallaatha Merkon Dozhugal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    புல்லறிவாண்மை (Pullarivaanmai)
    Petty Conceit
  • குறள்
    கல்லாத மேற்கொண் டொழுகல் கசடற
    வல்லதூஉம் ஐயம் தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    புல்லறிவாளர் தாம் கல்லாத நூலையும் கற்றதாகக் கொண்டு நடத்தல், அவர் குற்றமறக் கற்ற நூலுண்டாயின், அதனிடத்தும் பிறர்க்கு ஐயத்தை உண்டாக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    If men what they have never learned assume to know,
    Upon their real learning's power a doubt 'twill throw.
  • Meaning
    Fools pretending to know what has not been read (by them) will rouse suspicion even as to what they have thoroughly mastered.


Post a Comment